Here is a radio program from Australian National Radio that discusses the divide between Continental and Analytical Philoosophy. Well, it actually spends most of the time discussing Continental Philosophy.

Since I recently delivered a paper at a conference on Continental Philosophy of Religion, people have been asking me what Continental Philosophy is. I’ve done the best I can to answer, but it’s certainly hard to explain when people don’t encounter much Continental Philosophy. I usually try to compare it to Analytical Philosophy. In the States, most of us run into Analytical Philosophy regularly. It’s that kind of philosophy that is abstract and sounds a great deal like a type of scientific argumentation. I’f you’re interested in knowing a little better about what is happening in Continental Philosophy, check out this program from the beginning of July. You can download the audio or a transcript (but the transcript has some typos in it, sometimes on key words).

The Philosophers Zone, ABC Radio

